Description
The Church of the Annunciata, in the hamlet of Poggio di Croce, is of 14-century origin, built by the people in the middle of a quarter outside the town walls.
It is medium sized, has a male stratum floor and vaulted roof, a single door and a bell gable (1570). Inside it holds one of the most significant works among those imported from Florence. It is a panel of the Annunciation, and in the predella is the Dead Christ and Saints, by Giovanni del Biondo (1385, Florentine). Not many years later another panel arrived in Poggio di Croce from Florence by Rossello di Jacopo Franchi; all that remains is the predella, which is now in the National Gallery of Umbria. Next to the high altar is a fresco of the Crucifixion by the Sparapane of Norcia (16th cent.)
The church has a stoup from 1579, at the base of which is the coat of arms of the castle (a cross on five hills).